The NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature, Worth $100,000, Opens for Entries

The 2022 prize will consider poetry books.
cheluchi onyemelukwe - the son of the house

Cheluchi Onyemelukwe's The Son of the House won the 2021 NLNG Prize.

The NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature, Worth $100,000, Opens for Entries

The NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature has announced its call for entries for the 2022 prize. As usual, the $100,000 competition will take stock of books published in the past four years. It rotates the four genres of Prose Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Children’s Literature. Last year’s winner, for prose fiction, was Cheluchi Onyemelukwe’s novel The Son of the House. This year is for poetry.

The 2022 judges are Professor Sule Emmanuel Egya, Toyin Adewale-Gabriel, and Dike Chukwumerije. The last winner for poetry was the late Ikeogu Oke in 2017, for his collection The Heresiad.

The NLNG (Nigeria Liquefied and Natural Gas) established the prize in 2004. Winners are announced in October, to commemorate the first export of liquefied and natural gas by the NLNG on October 9, 1999.

The NLNG Advisory Board includes the chair, Emeritus Prof. Ayo Banjo, former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan; Prof. Ben Elugbe, former president of the Nigerian Academy of Letters; and Prof. Jerry Agada, former Minister of State for Education and former president of the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA).

See more details HERE.


Emmanuel Esomnofu, Staff Writer at Open Country Mag

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

“An ambitious new magazine that is committed to African literature"

- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Get the essential stories in African literature + Nigerian film and TV: in-depth, thought-provoking Profiles, features, reviews, and conversations, as well as news on events and opportunities.

We respect your privacy and will never send you Spam or sell your email.