Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki Shortlisted for Theodore Sturgeon Award 2021

The Nigeria-based writer and editor is shortlisted for his story “Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon,” which has been recognized by a slew of international science fiction awards in the U.S. and the U.K.


Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki Shortlisted for Theodore Sturgeon Award 2021

The finalists for the 2021 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced. The Nigerian writer and editor Donald Oghenechovwe Ekpeki is on the list of eleven stories for his novella-length story “Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon,” which appeared in Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, which he co-edited with Zelda Knight.

Another Dominion contributor, Marian Denise Moore, an American writer, is also a finalist for her story “A Mastery of German.”

The Theodore Sturgeon Award is presented by the Center for the Study of Science Fiction, at Kansas University, to the best science fiction short story of each year. It was established in 1987 by James Gunn, in honour of Theodore Sturgeon, a major figure in the golden age of science fiction (1939—1950). Sturgeon’s widow, Jayne Sturgeon, and his heirs joined Gunn in upholding the award.

Octavia E. Butler, James Gunn, and Geoff Ryman have been finalists. Judith Moffett, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Ted Chiang have previously won it. Suzzane Palmer won it last year. No writer has won it twice.

Ekpeki, who worked with Knight on the Dominion anthology during the pandemic, said in an email to Open Country Mag, “It makes me feel good to continue and be opportune to be part of a grand tradition of Black and African upliftment in speculative fiction generally and particularly [for] this very award.”

He mentions Nnedi Okorafor’s “Magical Negro,” published in Dark Matter: Book II, an anthology edited by Sheree Renee Thomas. He also mentions Tade Thompson’s “Yard Dog,” published in FIYAH. Okorafor and Thompson were shortlisted for the award in 2005 and 2019, respectively. “All this have led inexorably to the third,” Ekpeki said. 

“Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon” has previously been shortlisted for the 2020 British Science Fiction Awards (short fiction category), the 2021 Nebula Awards (novella category), and is currently on the 2021 Nommo Awards shortlist (novella category).

Donald Oghenechovwe Ekpeki won the Nommo Award for Best Short Story in 2019, and was awarded a 2020 Horror Writers Association Diversity Grant. For his work as co-editor of Dominion, he has been a finalist for the Locus and This Is Horror Awards. His writing has appeared in Omenana, Cosmic Roots and Eldritch Shores, Tordotcom, Strange Horizons, Uncanny Magazine, and NBC. With Zelda Knight, he is co-editor of Africa Risen (Tordotcom, 2022).

“To all that find transport on the literary journey, go with someone. A Black, African writer. A person of colour, a member of a marginalized community or group that needs it,” Ekpeki said.

The winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award will be announced before or in September. Visit here for the full list.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


As the first published African female playwright and Ghana’s former Minister of Education, the author of No Sweetness Here and Our Sister Killjoy was admired by Chimamanda Adichie, Tsitsi Dangarembga, and popstar Burna Boy. “The decay of Africa’s social, political, and economic systems is directly related to the complete marginalization of women,” she once said.
Chidi Mokeme and Nse Ikpe-Etim were snubbed in a near shut-out of Netflix series Shanty Town, with Tobi Bakre scooping a shock Best Drama Actor victory as Brotherhood swept its categories. Perennial Best Comedy Actress champ Funke Akindele also lost for the first time in five years while Anikulapo won Best Overall Movie.
Nearly All the Men in Lagos Are Mad, the actress’ debut collection of stories, sold over 2,200 copies, assuring it the No. 1 spot on The Rovingheights Bestseller List: Presented with Open Country Mag. So why do these stories of failing romance connect so widely?

“An ambitious new magazine that is committed to African literature"

- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Get the essential stories in African literature + Nigerian film and TV: in-depth, thought-provoking Profiles, features, reviews, and conversations, as well as news on events and opportunities.

We respect your privacy and will never send you Spam or sell your email.