The Brunel Prize Announces 2022 Shortlist of 7 Poets

The judges praised the finalists as “African voices liberated from prescriptions of form and ideas.”
Adedayo Agarau, the new editor-in-chief of Agbowo Magazine.

The Nigerian poet Adedayo Agarau.

The Brunel Prize Announces 2022 Shortlist of 7 Poets

The 2022 shortlist of the Brunel International African Poetry Prize has been announced, with seven poets from five countries. It offers £3,000 to an African poet who has not published a full-length collection.

This is the prize’s 10th year, and the last with its current format. As we reported last year, the prize, from 2023, will be administered by the African Poetry Book Fund (APBF) and renamed the Evaristo African Poetry Prize, after its founder Bernadine Evaristo.

Writers on this year’s shortlist are the Nigerian poets Adedayo Agarau and Chisom Okafor, Somali’s Asmaa Jama and Edil Hassan, South Africa’s Conot Cogill, Zimbabwe’s Zibusiso Mpofu, and Ethiopia’s Fahad Al-Amoudi.

The judges—chair Gadeba Baderoon, Tjawangwa Dema, and Tsitsi Jaji—praised the finalists as “African voices liberated from prescriptions of form and ideas.”

They wrote: “Engaging an expansive range of themes, from familial intimacy to the body to history’s lingering arc, this was a richly varied selection marked by confident experimentation with formal strategies. . . they are alive to the currents of history and the way poetry’s memorial practices animate the raw intimacy between the seen and unseen. The poems offered rich grounds from which to form our shortlist.”

Since its founding, the Brunel Prize has become the definitive poetry prize in the continent, championing some of the most important poets writing today, from Warsan Shire and Safia Elhillo to Gbenga Adesina and Romeo Oriogun, with most going on to publish books with the APBF, a longtime partner of the prize.

Read each finalist’s poems

The 2021 prize went to Nigeria’s Othuke Umukoro. The winner of the 2022 Brunel Prize will be announced on May 2, 2022.


Emmanuel Esomnofu, Staff Writer at Open Country Mag

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The $6,000 initiative, sponsored by Africa No Filter, will fund and support five projects representing West, East, and Southern Africa: a musical and art exhibition, 3D fashion and storytelling, a mixed media project on Nok terracotta, a podcast on LGBTQI+ issues, and a documentary on Nollywood.
The manuscript in progress has been acquired by Scribner in the US and W&N in the UK.
In Between Starshine and Clay, the novelist interviews Toni Morrison, Michelle Obama, and Wole Soyinka, among other major Black figures in the arts and politics. “One of the things that was the most surprising was the actual extent to which they forged their own path,” she said.

“An ambitious new magazine that is committed to African literature"

- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Get the essential stories in African literature + Nigerian film and TV: in-depth, thought-provoking Profiles, features, reviews, and conversations, as well as news on events and opportunities.

We respect your privacy and will never send you Spam or sell your email.